The Golden Age Of Smoking. Shoestring Press, Nottingham, 2014
A Dream Of Kos. Hans van Eijk at the Bonnefant Press, 2013
Death Comes For The Poets (with Matthew Sweeney). Muswell Press, London, 2012
Assault On The Clouds. Shoestring Press, Nottingham, 2012
Hex Wheels. Hans van Eijk at the Bonnefant Press, 2011
Less Of That W Or I’ll Z You! Surrealist Editions, Leeds, 2011
A Poetry Inferno. Eyelet Press, Nottingham, 2011
Outpost Theatre. Hans van Eijk at the Bonnefant Press, 2009
Cafe des Artists. Jonathan Cape, 2009
Pistol Sonnet. Salt Publishing, 2008
The Ship. Salt Publishing, 2007
Blues. Jonathan Cape, 2004
Teach Yourself Writing Poetry (Third Edition, with Matthew Sweeney). Hodder & Stoughton, 2008
North Sea Improvisations – a Fotopoem. Aark Arts, 2003
Mystery In Spiderville. Jonathan Cape, 2002 (Revised Edition: Vintage, 2003)
Spending Time With Walter. Jonathan Cape, 2001
Censored Poems. Translations of Marin Sorescu. Bloodaxe Books, 2001
Canada. Bloodaxe Books, 1997
Teach Yourself Writing Poetry (with Matthew Sweeney). Hodder, 1996
Ignoble Sentiments. Arc Press, 1995
Double. Bloodaxe Books, 1994
Cornerless People. Bloodaxe Books, 1990
Bright River Yonder. Bloodaxe Books, 1987
Hidden Identities. Chatto & Windus, 1982